Communication Essentials of a Conversational Journey

People are so interesting!   Identity 5772, my recent conversational journey provided me lots of opportunity to listen and share the stories of amazing people.  I’m always  filled me with awe at how much there is to learn and grow from a simple conversation.  Or should I say a conversation focused on the essentials of good communication.

With this in mind I want to take this opportunity to tell you about my new blog:

http://communicationessentials.wordpress.com

This new ‘journey’ will share tips and techniques based on my communication and conflict management coaching experience and expertise as well as new, yet different stories.  Collecting stories based on coaching topics is easy.   Well, sort of, I discovered as I launched my coaching biz in of all places:  NYC’s Union Square.

Enticing people to share with my cardboard sandwich sign advertising:

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            First I sat at a small table with my sign perched in the middle, my eager smile plastered on my face as I scanned passerby’s faces.  Catching eyes was as difficult as it must be catching fly balls at Yankee Stadium.  Impatient after 20 minutes, I got up and moved to one of the benches lining one of the Square’s walk though path.

In reality, if you saw a woman sitting with this sign in a public park, what would you think???  Would you go talk to her?

Three very different stories and conversations were my reward for tweaking my position.  Interestingly the three people I spoke with were in change mode from changing EVERYTHING in N’s life to changing strategies for meeting a personal and community need in Gary’s.  Sign on to hear these stories in next Monday’s post on:  http://communicationessentials.wordpress.com

Read my post where I confess to being a bit of a dinosaur.  Then take the poll and vote on which method of communication you prefer:

 Tongues or Thumbs communication

Which do you prefer?  Please be sure to share your preference!

I’ll share the results in two weeks on both blogs.

In the meantime, have a good weekend filled with good conversation

Leave a Reply

